The English Premier League Hall of Fame Explained

Everyone has an opinion on who they believe are the most significant English players. In contrast, the Premier League has opted to create an official list. The Premier League Hall of Fame is popular like the picks and parlays and has an attempt to include fans and commemorate players who have reached the pinnacle of their careers.

The Premier League has previously stated that it wishes to establish a Hall of Fame. The first two members’ names will be revealed next month. The Premier League Hall of Fame’s mission is to recognize and remember the “extraordinary” skill and talent of those who have played in the Premier League since its inception in 1992.

Alan Shearer and Theirry Henry are the first two names on the list. Alan Shearer has the most Premier League goals, while Theirry Henry was a renowned striker for Arsenal and Barcelona. However, they are not the only names on the list.

What is the EPL Hall of Fame?

According to the Premier League, getting admitted into its Hall of Fame is the “highest individual award.” So the location where you go to get to heaven is now a new landmark.

Since its inception in 1992, the Premier League Hall of Fame has recognized players who excelled on the field while also making significant contributions to the League. It is the highest distinction a Premier League player can receive.

You can learn more about the persons who have been inducted into the Premier League Hall of Fame by visiting their website. Players who have retired are the only ones who are eligible. To be eligible for induction in 2022, a player must have retired from the game before January 1, 2022.

Everyone inducted into the Hall of Fame receives a medal bearing their name and the year they were inducted.

The Premier League named the first two players into the Hall of Fame in 2021 and a shortlist of potential nominees. Fans could also vote for their favorite candidates.

Selection Criteria

To be eligible for the Premier League Hall of Fame in 2022, a player must have retired before January 1, 2022. In addition, only how well a player performed in the Premier League is considered, not how well they performed in other leagues while in the Premier League.

All accepted participants receive a medal with their name and the year they joined, and their selected charity receives £10,000.

Players must have participated in at least 250 Premier League games unless they have achieved the following.

  • The Premier League Team of the Decade or Premier League 20th Anniversary Team consists of players who have played at least 200 times for one club.
  • Won a Premier League Golden Boot or Golden Glove.
  • The Premier League’s Most Valuable Player.
  • Won three Premier League championships.
  • 100 Premier League goals scored or 100 Premier League clean sheets held (goalkeepers only)

Who else is in the Premier League Hall of Fame?

Alan Shearer and Thierry Henry were the initial two inductees. The announcement was made in April 2021.

In May of 2021, Eric Cantona, Roy Keane, Frank Lampard, Dennis Bergkamp, David Beckham, and Steven Gerrard joined the Hall of Fame.

This year, Rooney and Vieira are the first two players selected.

If the Premier League has already mastered creating buzz, its next objective is to honor the past. “The home of the greats” is a simple motto for a party on the Premier League’s website.

Between them, Shearer and Henry scored 435 Premier League goals. In addition, the public voted Eric Cantona, Roy Keane, David Beckham, Dennis Bergkamp, Frank Lampard, and Steven Gerrard into the “Class of 2021” after the previous season.

The Class of 2022 will consist of eight individuals who will join them in the following month. Today, Wayne Rooney and Patrick Vieira will be joined by another half dozen players selected from a list of twenty-five. Again, international supporters will have the final say in a poll until April 3.

This is the Premier League’s homage to the past; a means to provide depth to their rapidly expanding brand.

Even though it has been on the road since 1992, the vehicle feels extremely new and contemporary. This Hall of Fame is intended to convince you that thirty years is not nearly enough time to create an intriguing history.

Fans of Manchester United and Liverpool from all over the world can attest to the charm and worth of the past, and the Premier League is beginning to honor this before its 30th anniversary in August.

Leave a Comment